Wat Keo is located on the Steung Sangke River in Kampong Sambour village, Samrong commune, Ek Phnom district, Battambang province. Visitors can travel from the provincial town of Battambang across the Spean Thmor Thmey and then drive on the eastern side of the river until they reach the pagoda which is approximately 6.97 km from Battambang provincial hall. Wat Keo was built in 1772.In the past, the location of the pagoda was an island surrounded by water, (Pagoda Island) or Wat Monirotanaram. But the name is shared by other pagodas. Seeing this, the people changed the name to Wat Keo and it has been so called since then.